Sorry, I’ve been quiet…

It’s been a little hectic. Basically, I’ve decided I’m going to give New York a real shot and move here. Doing so on a limited budget, no actual job lined up (yet), and no housing lined up (yet) is terrifying. BUT DON’T WORRY! I HAVE A PLAN!

New York has been wildly fascinating. There are so many different neighborhoods and cultures and people, and I can’t even begin to explain how much I absolutely love that. It’s a city really unlike any other, and I’ve only really scratched the surface. In any event, the next few months are going to be a little rough, for sure. But something will come together, and it’s going to be wonderful. (: I have to believe that it will. Preferably sooner rather than later, but I’m not afraid of working hard. And if, after I give this a solid shot, I discover it’s not for me, I can make changes there too. I have to try though, and really, I’m excited for it! Also worried, but I can’t help that too much.

As far as the program goes, the book session is much more laid back than the magazine session was. I’m learning quite a bit, but it seems that there’s even more of the apprenticeship type of learning with book publishing than there is in magazine publishing. So I’ve got some base-line knowledge and will get some more before the end of this project, but realistically speaking, the job and house hunt are taking up more of my mental space than the program is. I’m dedicated to making it the best, naturally, but I also know that in the end, it’s not exactly what I learn but how I use that knowledge. And my goals are job-related in that aspect.

Leave a Reply

