I’m going on an adventure!

In roughly 6 hours, I’ll be on my way to New York City! I’ve wanted to go since I was twelve, and after getting into NYU last year for this summer program, I can’t believe that I’ll actually be there! Like today!

In January of 2015, I applied to NYU’s Summer Publishing Institute (SPI), and in March, I was accepted. I decided to defer my enrollment for a year, and so, here we are, days away from the start of the program! After looking at the projected schedule for SPI, I’m realizing that it will be the most academically and professionally challenging six weeks of my life. I’m not entirely sure that I’m ready – but I’ve always been of the mindset that if you wait until you’re ready before you do something, the chances of never doing it are much higher. So I’m jumping in, head first – because, honestly, what else can I do? As terrified as I am, I know that as soon as I’m in the mix of things, I’ll find that I am ready. Well, ready enough anyways, and things will fall together exactly the way they’re supposed to – I just have to give them that chance.

So I’m diving in, and I’m sure I’ll make mistakes along the way. But it’s a learning adventure, both about publishing but about myself too. I’ve made a move like this – spanning hundreds (thousands???) of miles – once before in my life, but in many ways, it was quite different. When I made the move from Alaska to Montana, I got to do it with my best friend. The move itself was simple enough. The adjustment took some time to, well, adjust to, haha, and while the move was good, overall, I can’t say it wasn’t without it’s difficulties.

But what I learned through the experience is that even if the opportunity itself is educational, and even if I’m going to have all these chance to network with individuals within the field of publishing (which is what I’m both looking forward to and dreading the most because really, why do I have to talk to people…?), the most incredible part of this entire trip for me is the chance to go beyond my comfort zone and experience a completely different lifestyle than I’ve been used to experiencing.

The truth is, New York City terrifies me. New York City is intimidating. It will be unlike anything I’ve ever experienced, and I don’t do the whole “walking in blind” scenario very well. At all. And sure, I have some idea of what the SPI program entails (and even that information is a touch too new and vague), but I’ve got quite a bit of anxiety about the next seven weeks because of the program. Having been out of school for a year and a half, and not really knowing what I’m getting myself into… it’s kind of a crazy for me to wrap my head around.

On the other hand though, I know it’s going to be great. I’m going to learn a lot, I’ll get to explore the city I’ve wanted to see and be in since I was twelve, and the connections I’ll make are only really made available through this program. It’s a wonderful opportunity, one that may very well open new doors for me, and I can’t wait for it to start! Obstacles and worries be damned, I’m going to make this work, and it’s going to be fabulous! Right? Right! Good!

Okay, I’m off!

Leave a Reply

